Jamie O’Connell, Embers

Embers

I rake my mouth
with its last
breath

ask my tongue
to weep
for birds

I am whatever
brightens
under the
rubble

sweep at my light
I’ll bleed your
tortured sun

lose your teeth
to the tide
and I’ll hold you
inside my throat

I’ll teach you how
to twist your
voices
in a sea for
whales

to help them decay

Sleep Apnea

my brain:
a swarm of
bees stuck
in honey

pollinate
lithium
floating
in oil

I have run
out of salt
batteries

balloon
released of
helium

unstable
suspended
no longer
breathing

Jamie O’Connell lives in the Bay Area, where she received her MFA in Writing from California College of the Arts. Recent poems have appeared or will soon appear in FIVE:2:ONE, Eunoia Review, Califragile, Occulum, bad pony, Cacti Fur, Reality Hands, and Riggwelter. She spends most of her time with her majestic zebra-striped dog/direwolf, Daisy. Visit her site here: http://www.jamieoco.com.

 

Leave a comment