Faleeha Hassan, Faces of Love

274539_cd41bec0f415408b926c9d05615c5a14-mv2Faleeha Hassan is a poet, teacher, editor, writer born in Najaf, Iraq, in 1967, who now lives in the United States. She was the first female poet for children in Iraq, and the leading poet of the feminist movement in the holy city of Najaf.

She holds a master’s degree in Arabic literature, and has published sixteen collections of poetry in Arabic. She has translated many of her poems into various languages and has received awards from the linguists and translators Arab Society (AWB), and the Festival of Creativity Najafi.

Faces of Love

Do not carry me in your hand

Like a small bird wet with raindrops

Love is a traumatic experience

But I want to live it

To keep my windows overlooking the lake of the pink dolphins

When the evening comes

They will start dancing for me

And clouds will bunch across the ceiling of my kitchen

Love is a mysterious experience

I would like to sing to your photo

Which I keep under my pillow

But my voice is not suited for singing

Even my bed sheets are still laughing

Whenever I wash the dishes

And I think of you

The lather dances between my hands

Yes, love is dangerous experience

But I will live it

Because I’m afraid of continuing my life

With the furniture trembling

From the intensity of loneliness.

Leave a Reply

